Zoolz Reviews

Post Icon
Average Ratings
Features
Remote Access
Security
Ease of Use
Overall

Zoolz.com is a creation of Boston-based Genie9. Genie is best known for creating potent backup and recovery toolkits, and Zoolz reflects the expertise the company has acquired in data protection and safe storage as it provides each of its users with a personal social cloud where documents, pictures and other important can be backed up safely.

Main Features of Zoolz

Zoolz is a free online storage network that adds an enjoyable social component to cloud technology. New users are offered up to four gigabytes of free storage, with an opportunity to earn up to twenty gigabytes of total space by inviting family and co-workers to join the network. Further space is available for a reasonable subscription fee. Users are able to provide others with access to their clouds by adding names via email and Facebook. The main app is used via Facebook, and Zoolz also offers an app for mobile phones and iPads that allows film and music access while traveling.

Who Is This Online Backup Service for?

Zoolz is useful for people who have large volumes of media and documents and an interest in accessing them remotely and sharing them with others. It’s a powerful means of securing important data, with download and upload speeds up to five times quicker than its competition.

Zoolz free online storage

Is Zoolz Easy to Use?

Zoolz is quick and simple to use. Once the app is downloaded, it rapidly scans folders for relevant files to add to the cloud. There is no need to make any configurations, and if a file has been changed, the updated version will automatically upload.

Customer Service – Zoolz Online Backup

Zoolz has a regularly updated knowledge base on its website. If that isn’t enough, users can contact technical support through a submission form. Data stored on each personal social cloud is encrypted by bank standards and stored on Amazon’s highly secured S3 servers, so members can rest easy knowing their digital property is safe.

Zoolz3.55Xenius2012-02-21 21:03:34Find reviews of Zoolz.com submitted by customers, and get a free storage account on our site.

Bookmark and Share

11 Customer Reviews of “Zoolz”

Review by Coach, August 21, 2014

Features
Remote Access
Security
Ease of Use
Overall

Zoolz can’t be trusted.

Last Black Friday they offered a super deal – $90 for 5 years of unlimited storage. I took them up on it and it worked ok for 8 months (they throttled my uploads after 150 GB). Then I got a letter from their legal department containing a large FBI logo claiming I had a program that I didn’t own. After I proved that I DID own the program, they replied that they still wanted to terminate my subscription – and promptly did.

That was it, no discussion, no recourse. My guess is they saw the Black Friday buyers as a liability and basically fired us, hoping we would go quietly because of the big scarey FBI logo (that the can’t legally use).

Zoolz is based in Boston, the legal department is in London and all tech support is from Amman, Jordan and they only work during the day in Amman. My 2 tech support issues had to be resolved in the middle on my night.

Stay away from Zoolz!

I am now using AltDrive.com and have found it to be fast and reliable.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

Review by John, September 29, 2013

Features
Remote Access
Security
Ease of Use
Overall

Stay away. I have Windows SP2, this software (home version) would not fully install. The client software did not include the provision for selecting the files to backup. I tried a number of different fixes all to no avail. I emailed their support department, no reply. They promise a response within 24 hours. Nope. Then I submitted an online tech support ticket. Waited a couple more days, no response. Then I called their sales phone. After 11 rings a heavily accented man answered. I told him I wanted a refund, and of course he tried to convince me I needed tech support. I insisted on a refund; he said he couldn\’t do one over the phone, he could only do it through email. He told me he would email me immediately. It\’s been over a week, no reply. Now I have to file an investigation with my bank to get a refund. My experience would have to be termed an outright ripoff.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

Review by Mark, May 4, 2013

Zoolz is really not for bussiness use:
- Support is very slow and not by skilled professionals
- Rebranding possibitilty was scheduled, rescheduled several times and just cancelled finally
- Invoices are incorrect, getting this fixed is impossible

Pitty, it seems a promising tool if they just could get their case together and operate on a professional level.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

Feedback: 1 positive

Review by Matt Palmer, July 23, 2012

Product looks great initially however support is absolutely terrible. At best its a two week wait for a response to a query. In addition there’s no ability to limit how many versions of files are kept. Therefore your space used just increases all the time, ie you end up paying for a lot more space than you need.

Website says the products works on servers, it absolutely does not. Have tried on many with no joy. Tech support have tried a number of times and said that ‘there will be a new release soon’, this was a year ago and despite constant prompting they’ve never sorted it. Style over substance i’m afraid

Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

Feedback: 5 positive

Review by Vaughn, July 21, 2012

I have been using Zoolz for about three months. initially it has been good but I have had to re-install it three times – have had the company remotely access my computer to fix technical bugs with it and it has just crashed yet again by saying i am 0% protected one day and then backing up all 15000 file the next day and in doing so doubling my storage usage… i have now given up with them and am going to try justcloud.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

Feedback: 4 positive, 1 negative

Review by Jon, April 19, 2012

I was using zoolz for a couple of months, and it was simple to use. I found the features to be good, and pricing comparable to other services. However, when it comes to customer service they are awfully slow on responding. What ended up being the deal breaker, was when my credit card expired and they sent me a notification that I needed to update it. When I went to update it, I was greeted with a message that my account was suspended, and that I needed to click a link to update my payment information. I was sent to the sales contact form, which apparently never gets responded to. The message indicated I had 14 days to update my payment information lol. Needless to say, I have moved on, because a service, no matter how great it is, just isn’t worth paying for if there is no support.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

Feedback: 4 positive

Review by Alex Hartley, March 28, 2012

Zoolz is very simple to use, even for people of my age who are not in their twenties and thirties. Impressive !

Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

Feedback: 1 positive, 1 negative

Review by Jonathan, March 27, 2012

I found Zoolz to be average at best. Site make it look impressive but customer support is limited.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

Review by Jamis Smith, March 26, 2012

I’m a Zoolz user and have been ever since it launched. I love it because it’s simple and easy to use. It installed smoothly on my system and started taking my important files to the cloud, tracking which files have changed on its own. One fantastic feature is being able to share a file with no size limit even with non-Zoolz users! Guys keep up the good work !

Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

Review by Walter Taylow, March 23, 2012

I found there restrictions to be difficult to take and it was quite expensive for what it was, support was slow and it was a real pain to try and cancel.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

Review by Jack Stanly, March 7, 2012

Its super fast, very easy to you, and love the amazing one click sharing part, also very cool android app to access all your stuff

Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

Write a Review of Zoolz

Click stars below to rate.
Features
Remote Access
Security
Ease of Use
Overall

Top 3 Online Backup Services of 2013

This top 3 of online backup services of 2017 is composed by the visitors of our site through their ratings and reviews, and by our editors.

Best 3 Online Backup Services

NameInfo
MyPCBackup logo
MyPCBackup
Review
Visit Site
ZipCloud logo
ZipCloud
Review
Visit Site
JustCloud logo
JustCloud
Review
Visit Site