OpenDrive Reviews

Post Icon
Average Ratings
Features
Remote Access
Security
Ease of Use
Overall

OpenDrive is a California-based online storage company that provides a real-time computer backup service. The company makes it easy for business and personal users to use offsite secure data backup to keep copies of their files safe. The service also helps users share files with friends and coworkers.

Main Features of OpenDrive

OpenDrive offers users the ability to store files online and access them from any Web browser. A simple interface allows users to create folders and edit files where they are in the cloud. Users can also set up OpenDrive as a drive on their computer. You can save files to the cloud drive as if it were a USB or external drive. By always saving important files to the cloud, they are always available from other computers, and they are always backed up.

OpenDrive online backup serviceThe OpenDrive backup application makes it possible for computer users to store a complete backup of their hard drive using online backup storage. This easy solution helps users recover from the loss or failure of their computer. After backing up a computer once, the Open Drive software synchronizes new and altered files to OpenDrive so the online backup file is always up-to-date. The synchronization service works with the entire hard drive or for individual files.

Collaboration tools offered by OpenDrive allow users to create secure user accounts for coworkers and friends. This lets groups work together on projects while giving them the ability to track versions and discussions.

OpenDrive services

Who is This Online Backup Service for?

OpenDrive is for any personal or business computer user who wants to protect them from computer failure. A recent copy of their hard drives or important files is always available online for instant recovery. The OpenDrive service is also for businesspeople, students and friends who need to work together on projects and have access to the same files.

Is OpenDrive Easy to Use?

OpenDrive is easy to use and flexible, so almost any computer user can enjoy its benefits. The online drive software works with Windows, Android and Mac, so everyone can use it.

Customer Service OpenDrive Online Backup

OpenDrive customers always get the best customer service in the industry. Support is accessible from an online request form as well as through an online user community.

OpenDrive4.1Xenius2011-12-30 21:33:37Several customer reviews of the OpenDrive online backup service that allows you to store files in the cloud so you can easily share and sync them.

Bookmark and Share

15 Customer Reviews of “OpenDrive”

Review by Sean, January 23, 2015

Features
Remote Access
Security
Ease of Use
Overall

I have a very large company that decided to let opendrive store some of our very important data bases files through their windows application. OpenDrive has now lost that data and we are in the process of starting a class action lawsuit against them. If you have in the past 5 years have had similar issues regarding lost data, or continues data interruption please email me at opendrivelawsuit@gmail.com
It’s time for companies like opendrive to pay for their incompetents and bring them to justice.

Please email me the details of your encounter and the date it occurred.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

Feedback: 1 positive

Review by Laurie T, January 12, 2015

Features
Remote Access
Security
Ease of Use
Overall

This company’s pseudo operations, customer service (non-existent) are the SHADYEST WORST I have ever encountered. Their main function is to SECURELY STORE DOCUMENTS, and they can’t even do that!!! We paid for a year’s subscription to have ONE DOCUMENT stored and not they have “LOST IT”????!!! There are people working from their home posing as “managers” but who won’t give their name. DO NOT SPEND YOUR MONEY WITH THIS COMPANY!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

Feedback: 3 positive

Review by Arend, December 30, 2014

Features
Remote Access
Security
Ease of Use
Overall

OpenDrive is since last version (for Mac) really stable and fast in backup and synchronisation.
I am in EU and get a 8Mb/s which is ok, not great but ok.
The problem is the Drive on the desktop, copy something to the drive looks limited to 200KB/s however OpenDrive clames not too, but backup and sync is really fast copying a file of 1Gb takes more then an hour. which is really slow!
I pointed out this problem several times, always get the same resons off not copy more then 3-5 files when i have a high ping. But i upload just 1 file of 1Gb, this lets me to the conclusion that service is not good.
But backup and sync is working very well, only it is slower to put your backup back. Take that in mind, but let’s hope you don’t need it. For archiving it is not useable because of the slow copy speed of the drive. Too bad because i was looking for something like Bitcasa where i get more space then Bitcasa delivers.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

Feedback: 1 negative

Review by Rebecca Bredehoft, September 12, 2014

Features
Remote Access
Security
Ease of Use
Overall

Terrible customer service. They refused to refund charges for my first year of service, even though they never provided a hard drive for manual upload as promised when I signed up. I complained after waiting for two months, and they wouldn’t prorate the months that I spent waiting even though I never uploaded a single thing to their storage or refund the remainder of the year. Then, to make matters worse, they renewed my service for another year and charged me ANOTHER $99, claiming I had never properly cancelled my account. I again contacted them asking for a refund 2 days after they charged my credit card, but they have again refused to refund me. I have filed a complaint with the BBB. I’ve never had a worse experience with a company. I know use Backblaze and couldn’t be happier with them. Stay away from Open Drive!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

Feedback: 1 positive

Review by Brian A, July 10, 2013

Features
Remote Access
Security
Ease of Use
Overall

The WORST experience in years! They will not cancel your account even for the complete lack of there service working. Nearly every positive review is fake.

Ultimately had to cancel my credit card for fraud because of them!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

Feedback: 4 positive

Review by Sheldon Pummel, July 1, 2013

Features
Remote Access
Security
Ease of Use
Overall

Latest version rocks! Easier access to direct links. Great backup options. Can use on all my devices. The best of the best!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

Feedback: 1 positive, 3 negative

Review by Amy Lane, June 26, 2013

Features
Remote Access
Security
Ease of Use
Overall

Overall I am incredibly happy with OpenDrive. They are always updating the software and adding new features so a lot of the “issues” with them in the past are no longer an issue. I love that they offer scheduled file backups in addition to file syncing making them a 2 in 1 service. They also offer unlimited storage (yes, it’s REALLY unlimited) at a great price too.

I couldn’t recommend them more. My only gripe with them is that on the Mac version the text is a little bit mis-aligned on the settings page but that’s really not a big deal at all.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

Feedback: 1 positive, 2 negative

Review by Toby Bartlett, May 25, 2013

Features
Remote Access
Security
Ease of Use
Overall

I wasn’t ever able to even configure their terrible software to select a folder to back up. The client froze due to the poor quality of the software. I contacted support who FULLY ADMITTED the software “didn’t work” and they politely asked me to wait for new software. I said I did not want to do that. I also asked for a refund since I had never uploaded one byte of data to the service successfully. They refused. They also refused to cancel my account, rather they quoted the T’s & C’s at me. This company clearly puts profits before customer service. Do not trust your data to them! I now use Crashplan and couldn’t be happier.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

Feedback: 3 positive, 4 negative

Review by MYT, April 5, 2013

DO NOT USE THEM!! I had so much issues with them last year: server down, couldnt download my files, etc. Then one day I realized ALL of files were gone! I found it the hard way because no one from the company informed me or even tried to help recover my files. All they said was sorry for the inconvenience caused and no, we cant refund your money. I would recommend you to have backup of your files and take your business somewhere else.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

Feedback: 4 positive, 1 negative

Review by larschou, February 14, 2013

Be very careful with OpenDrive – especially if you travel outside the States. It’s very slow comparing to Dropbox or other cloud storages. Their policy does not give refund. I subscribed their paid service when I traveled to Asia and China. Then I had a hard time accessing their site. First thought was it got blocked by Great Firewall of China. OpenDrive support then told me it was their server issue… To me that’s worse than getting blocked – having an unstable cloud server – what’s the point of having data on the cloud?
Unfortunately, THEIR POLICY DOES NOT GIVE REFUND…
So, don’t fall for this.
Their App development is so not user friendly, which is pretty much useless when accessing data on tablet devices.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

Feedback: 3 positive, 3 negative

Review by jason, September 5, 2012

Beware of Open Drive. Their support is terrible and their service is extremely slow. I tried a few others and OpenDrive turned out to be the worst on performance by a lot. Their support team blames the file types and counts. Apples to apples test show they have issues they need to address but they will not admit to it. My fault :) They will also not refund so buyer beware. Positive side they are cheap but in my case un usable. Also took a month to answer a support email.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

Feedback: 4 positive, 2 negative

Review by Nancy, August 16, 2012

Very bad service. Besides the interface being changed and bulky to use they lost most of my files almost 50 gigs of data gone forever. Over 200 personal photos that can’t be replaced. I put my files there while I had my computer upgraded and in the process of downloading them their servers crashed.

They were not very helpful with responding to when the back ups would be restored and when they said they were all back the file folders were there but they were empty.

A lot of my files could not be replaced and some of the photos were of people that had passed away and can never be replaced.

This is the absolute worst thing a company in this business could do and after I asked to have my account deleted they were still charging my card and I had nothing on the site any longer. Stay away from this company and find another resource for cloud storage.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

Feedback: 3 positive, 1 negative

Review by ochionnaith, August 8, 2012

Lost all my data!!

I signed up last year very happy with the marketing, pricing and the way the service operated. However, in December all my data was lost and opendrive have been unable to restore, provide access to a backup, etc. I was devastated as a lot of the items I had stored were single copy and are now apparently lost forever. If a provider fails in the single most important and basic premise of its service, in not being able to guarantee the safe storage and easy return of data, how can they be trusted?? I am surprised that I have not read more about this on the web as a co-worker has had the same experience. The response from their customer service team has been very poor, I received a response to my query as to where my files were, blandly informing me that the files were lost and no further efforts would be made to restore them, there was no follow up, offer of refund or it appears any determination on behalf of opendrive to find a successful solution. Trust?? Not so sure

Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

Feedback: 4 positive, 2 negative

Review by dcschind, July 31, 2012

Disappointing. Note that automatic backup feature not available for Mac users, but this is not clear on the site prior to purchase. Support is poor, 5 days required for a response despite 2 requests, with an inadequate response.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

Feedback: 3 positive, 2 negative

Review by Sameer, May 29, 2012

OpenDrive secures our files and allows us to choose any of their customized storage plans. As we began to use this service, I do not need to worry about data loss. It’s simple yet powerful. We use it in keeping our CRM to be web-based allowing our Account Managers to access our database even if they are not in our office and working on getting more sales in their respective areas.Signing up for their Custom plan is our best option as our need for storage space differs each month so that’s really the best plan for us.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

Feedback: 1 positive, 3 negative

Write a Review of OpenDrive

Click stars below to rate.
Features
Remote Access
Security
Ease of Use
Overall

Top 3 Online Backup Services of 2013

This top 3 of online backup services of 2017 is composed by the visitors of our site through their ratings and reviews, and by our editors.

Best 3 Online Backup Services

NameInfo
MyPCBackup logo
MyPCBackup
Review
Visit Site
ZipCloud logo
ZipCloud
Review
Visit Site
JustCloud logo
JustCloud
Review
Visit Site

In the past, there also were problems with insurance companies, especially hmos who would not pay for a quotnewquot procedure. Dr. ntl-pro.com/xaw-361282/ http://stuccorainbowmusic.com/plm-360307/ Weed, susun, menopausal years (woodstock ny: ash tree publishing 1992) p12 copy 2001 sheila shea all rights reserved copy 2001 robin leebardt all rights reserved back home. Fibroids, infertility and pregnancy wastage. Please review our terms of use. elenitsa-apartments-roda.com/kxb-364207/ actsofviolencemovie.com/uhf-360272/ Html 30. http://thomasseddon.name/agt-362953/ Do they really mean she likes me? , 2 aug 10, 9:54pm... meganhudlowdesigns.com/gxe-361577/ Please review our terms of use. Vaginal hysterectomy, lavh, and laparoscopic hysterectomy. Html 30. lindakatmarian.com/hsr-362976/ http://midas-partners.gr/img/icons/tabs/atushy.php?rgq=360956 Radiology. http://kevinvincenthalpin.com/amo-363558/ Rupture of the gravid uterus in the third trimester. Uterine fibroids: uterine artery embolization versus abdominal hysterectomy for treatmenta prospective, randomized, and controlled clinical trial. A radiologist makes a small incision on the skin of the groin area to insert a catheter into the artery. review generic viagra
ElephantDrive Online Storage